Action Sports and Chimp Management https://sheshreds.co/

img_2627

The Chimp Paradox is written by Steve Peters, Consultant Psychiatrist. As well as being an academic, Steve has worked with many world class athletes including cyclists. This blog is about how his mind management program, The Chimp Paradox, can be applied to develop your sports skills. It’s a model I use in my work with children, young people and their families also. It’s a long way from being biologically accurate but it provides a good metaphor and helpful tools to use in personal development.

img_2624

This blog is only an introduction to get you started. We need to do first things first! More to follow!

Here are the three main components of the model:

  • the human – (this is you); working through logical thinking, fact and truth.
  • the chimp – (emotional machine); working through emotional thinking, feelings and impressions.
  • the computer – (storage system); automatic thoughts and behaviours, beliefs, values and mindset (more on this later).

Think about and emotional event you experienced in the last 24 hours. Were you happy about your feelings and behaviour? If the answer is ‘no’, it is likely that your Chimp was in control.

Example

I knew I needed to go out in the evening to train but my Chimp started to talk about the cold weather, feeling hungry and tired and convincing me to stay at home. I stayed in even though I would have benefitted from a training session and would have felt better for it.

So my human (me) had positive intentions but my Chimp (emotional thinking) hijacked me and stopped me from training! Clearly I need to do some Chimp management and yes I will get to that!

Example

I went to work on my bike skills on steep techy terrain. I focussed on positive thinking beforehand and I wanted to push myself. Half way down the track I stopped. My Chimp chimed in with ‘what if you slip on that root? You could really hurt yourself!’ I wanted to ride the track but I got off and dragged my bike down graciously on my bot!

My human (and my cross boy friend) knew I could do it but my Chimp, full of ‘what if?’ and self doubt got in my way.

My Chimp often gets in my way! We need to accept we all have a Chimp and they are neither good nor bad. We need our emotional thinking and sometimes our chimps are right and helpful. At other times we need to manage our chimps to achieve our goals.

img_2463

Good Chimp management starts with knowing your Chimp well!

Tasks!

it can be really helpful to think through episodes related to your training and reflect on whether your human or Chimp was in charge. What are the messages your Chimp is giving you? Are there patterns in times of day etc? Keep a daily reflection diary for two weeks. Know your Chimp!

In the meantime, your Chimp has needs. Common Chimp needs are for a sense of control, self worth, belonging, acknowledgement from and connection to others. Make sure you meet your chimp’s needs! Set aside time when you can choose activities just for you. Give yourself positive messages, think about your achievements not failures! They are just yet to be accomplished! Find a tribe and get connected. Share your achievements. Post that gorgeous selfie! If this resonates with you and you want to know more, I will be writing about Chimp management tools in two weeks. But as I said, first things first, start here! We need good foundations.

Thanks, @mtb_amelia

 

 

 

One thought on “Action Sports and Chimp Management https://sheshreds.co/

Leave a comment